Wrestlemania XXX Review.

Image

I don’t usually bother writing about wrestling, because it’s on too often and every piece I posted would be me moaning about the shoddy booking.  Nonetheless Wrestlemania 30 was this Sunday and I thought how can I pass up the chance to write a review on the biggest show piece in wrestling?

Opening

I think everyone would agree in unison that this was a pretty cool opening to the show.  Personally I’m not really a Hogan fan, because he’s before my time, but I still get it.  What Hogan is to many is what Austin and Rock are to me and people of my wrestling generation, and to put the three biggest names in WWE history together in one ring to open a historic event was a great start.

Nice to see that Hogan forgot what stadium he was in, don’t know if he’s just a bit senile or he had popped too many pills before going out there, either way good way to start the show Hulkster!

I don’t really like how the fans were sort of booing the Rock as he came into the ring; it isn’t really his fault that he has made himself a major success outside of wrestling that other wrestlers could only dream of.  If the Rock showed up at an event I was at I wouldn’t be booing, I’d be running to the bathroom because I just pissed myself in excitement.

Daniel Bryan beat Triple H

I liked this match a lot; it had good technical wrestling, it told a good story and most importantly it gave the correct result.  I don’t think that anyone really thought that Bryan was ever going to do anything but win this match (not that this is a guarantee based on later events), but this match set the main event up perfectly.  Bryan was always the plucky baby face who was battling against it all to win the gold, but they added an injury angle in to the mix to make him even more sympathetic, and it worked perfectly.

It is so easy to sit and slag the writers off when they get things wrong, and don’t get me wrong they get things wrong quite a lot, but they got this right.  Bryan got a clean win over Triple H, who put him over massively in turn.  I’m not a Triple H fan and think that he generally does more harm than good to those he works with, but in this situation that wasn’t the case.  You also have to give Trips big props for putting on such a good match when he is a part timer.  For me the best match of the night.

The Shield beat Kane and the New Age Outlaws

As soon as this match started you knew it was going to be short, I am however surprised as to how short it was.  The Shield looked great with a high flying offence and the good ol’ Attitude Era boys looked like a group of old men who had accidentally wandered into the ring…Oh well at least the double triple power bomb was cool!

Weird Backstage Segment

Ah the traditional backstage segment where a bunch of old guys stand about playing with toys which a twelve year old would turn his nose up at!  I guess this segment shows why WWE doesn’t allow for direct chair shots to the head…Damn indeed!

Cesaro won the Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal

Not really much to say about this match at all, Kofi’s spot was cool, I liked when Fandango danced round the apron and it was nice to see JTG is held in such high regard by the people at WWE that he can’t even get into this match.  The big talking point though is that the man formally known as Antonio took the ridiculously sized trophy home to his house with a tasty body slam over the top rope of the Big Show, in a moment which was not only a great spot but also had Hulk Hogan telling everyone that he once did something similar to Andre the Giant a while ago.

John Cena beat Bray Wyatt

Meh…hard to understand why they gave the win to Cena in this match, but that’s what they did.  To be fair this is a great example of a wrestler who loses a match but still sort of wins because he’s gone over in the loss.  I think it helped when Wyatt at the start of the match was offering Cena the win straight away if he embraced scary Cena, it showed Wyatt didn’t really care about winning, which obviously helps when Super Cena beats three men to win the match.

I really didn’t care about Cena fighting against embracing the hate (…or was that another story…?), I mean who above the age of eight really gives a shit?  The answer I’m sure is nobody.  I don’t hate Cena, and quite honestly feel sorry for him because he gets given a bad hand all the time with the same old stale storylines, but this was another poor match on the big stage for him, and despite the fact that he was buried in the mid card, he should have in my opinion put over the young talent with a clean win rather than furthering his own dull legacy with a win that means almost nothing to him in the long run.

The major hope is that Bray doesn’t go down the Fandango line of last year, although I doubt it will happen because he has the potential to be a star for many years to come.

Brock Lesnar beat the Undertaker

I always figured that eventually Undertaker would lose at Wrestlemania eventually, but I assumed it would have been against the next big thing or even Cena.  I certainly didn’t expect it to be against a part timer or for that matter Brock Lesnar.  It’s hard to describe the shock that I felt as I watched, ‘meh another F5?…oh fuck!’  I don’t think anyone in the audience seen it coming, I don’t even think the cameraman saw it coming.  My initial thought was ‘shit, they’ve fucked it up’, of all the results this was the one I knew for sure, and it turns out I didn’t.  They made a very poor match incredibly memorable by creating a finish that nobody even imagined was coming.  It is very rare that you truly are shocked by the outcome of a wrestling match; this very much was one of those rare moments.

To be honest it’s probably a good thing that the streak has finally finished because I don’t personally think that Taker has really been up to much in his recent matches, in fact I’d say that three out of his last four Wrestlemania matches have been pretty shit (the CM Punk one being the exception).  I imagine that this is Taker’s last match, because why else would they end the streak?  If it is his last match, then I think it’s a damn shame, because it was absolute shit and he and his career deserves better.

I don’t think it was Lesnar’s fault either; he got dropped into a pile of shit and did his best with what he found.  The pace to start the match was very slow and never picked up.  Now I believe Taker suffered a serious concussion at some point early in the match, and if you rewatch it you start to think ‘ah that’s why he’s stumbling about like he doesn’t know where he is’ rather than ‘man he’s selling these moves pretty heavily’.

When watching the match I thought to myself it would have been a great line for the commentators to say that Lesnar is faster, stronger, younger and on any other day of the year he’d be a guarantee to win, but this is Wrestlemania and this is the streak.  To me this says everything about what the streak is, because when you look at it Lesnar is a physical beast and Taker is an old man with a crumbling body, it doesn’t really make sense that Taker would ever win this fight, yet everyone thought he would (ironic when they refuse to push some guys because they are too small).

It’s really hard to know what you truly think about things like this, because it is too early to really know the true outcome.  If Lesnar sticks about for another few years or becomes a more regular performer (which is unlikely) and they truly capitalise on the amazing feat that this is, then it is hard to really criticise the decision.  However if in the space of a year Lesnar’s pissed off again then clearly he was the wrong choice, time will tell.  The question is if not Lesnar, then who?  It would give a young up and comer a huge boost to their career to break the streak, but they’d not only have to be pretty special but also be a heel because they were always going to receive massive heat.  It’s hard to see anyone who currently fits that mould (although a lot can change in a year), so there would in my opinion only be one guy left, and that’s John Cena.  Personally I’d rather see a part time monster like Lesnar break the streak than John bloody Cena.

AJ Lee wins Divas Title…match?

It’s bad enough that this wasn’t a sensible number of competitors, it’s even worse that women that haven’t done anything all year or are Eva Marie get into a title match at Wrestlemania, but they were on a hiding to nothing in this match.  Nobody wanted to follow the streak ending, and clearly the crowd were a combination of in shock and not giving a fuck.  To be honest they got a lot of time which would have been better utilised in the Shield match.

Daniel Bryan wins WWE Title against Randy Orton and Batista

I think after the outcome of the Taker match things could’ve got nasty if everyone’s favourite skinny jeans wearing bald guy had walked away with the title, thankfully that didn’t happen.  It was a decent start, but the match became truly special when the Authority ran down to interject into the match.  Again I have to give it to Triple H, he really put Bryan over big time here, and it’s always nice to see him take one in that ridiculously big nose.  Shit picked up after that as we got the spot of the night with Bryan being Batista Bombed and RKO’d through the Spanish announce table (maybe I’m wrong but it looked like Ricardo was telling them to put him through the French table because they’re the new guys, clearly it didn’t work).  Can’t help but think Batista is an idiot after he didn’t take one of the two guys in the ring and pin them, instead standing about looking at the crowd like ‘how cool am I!’  Of course Bryan looks like an even bigger hero as he does his best Mick Foley impersonation to come off the stretcher and win the match.  The ending sequence was very good, and the jubilation from the crowd and Bryan, as Batista tapped out was one of those classic moments that will surely go down in Wrestlemania history.

It is funny to think that if CM Punk doesn’t walk away from the WWE in the manner which he did that this match would never have actually happened.  I don’t think there was a chance that they would have put Orton v Batista on after the heat Batista was receiving, but I don’t think Bryan would’ve been the guy to take the place; I think it would probably have been Punk.  That’s the irony of it all, Punk was upset at not getting the top spot, but if he had waited around he probably would have been in pole position to take it.  It is made all the worse by the fact that Daniel Bryan had the match against Trips that Punk was meant to have and got to have the title match on top of that.  Maybe I’m wrong, but I think this was done as a big fuck you to Punk and the manner in which he left the company.

Needless to say that it was a very memorable Wrestlemania, which is how it should be when it is a special edition.  I think the first and last matches stole the show, and the obvious shocking moment of Lesnar breaking the streak will go down in history as one of the greatest moments ever, so overall it was pretty damn good.

They don’t always get the booking right, but they definitely know how to put on a show, and Wrestlemania 30 was no different than what you would expect.  Cool entrances, excellent video packages and generally a very good overall product.  All you can do now is sit back wait and see how the fuck it all up.

Anyway so that’s the review of Wrestlemania 30, leave a comment and share your opinions.  Plus find all the latest bm23sportsreviews updates on Facebook and Twitter.

Author: bm23reviews

I watch TV and sports then write stuff.....that's about it.

8 thoughts on “Wrestlemania XXX Review.”

  1. I was gutted by the amount of S.H.I.E.L.D. time they were offered, shocked by the Taker match and lose and just like you did not see that coming at all so big props to WWE for keeping that well hidden. HHH v Daniel Bryan best match for sure and the muck up made by Hogan at the start only made the start more memorable i grew up with all 3 on my screens and the history and mana that was in that ring at the moment will never been replicated, would have been more awesome if Mr Wrestlemania, The Show Stopper, The Main Event HBK came in also and chatted with them, seeing he has history with The Rock, Stone Cold Steve Austin and Hogan….

    overall i would give WMXXX a decent pass mark of 7.5/10

    Like

    1. I agree HBK would’ve been the next guy that I’d have put in the ring, but he probably never made it because he didn’t transcend wrestling like the other three did.

      7.5 I’d say is about right for a rating, which is good considering my expectations weren’t at all high for the event. Needless to say I was pleasantly surprised.

      Like

      1. I was expecting much after the last few PPVs and the last few WM events and even mentioned to friends when i booked it (which i only did after the main event was altered as i didnt want to watch Bootista oops i mean Batista v Orton) anyway i said i hope this doesnt bomb like previous events and was kinda glad i booked it, it was exciting and shocking which is what WWE events had been missing as of late…..

        I get what you mean about HBK still would have been nice to see him at WM

        Like

      1. Could be that, could be that they think they sell more tickets and merchandise, could be that the networks want them to be PG, could be to do with Linda McMahon trying to run for senate, or it could be a bit of all of those things. Nobody really knows.

        Like

Leave a Reply

