5 Tips for the Masters.

Image

The first major of the year is just around the corner as the best in golf (and some old duffers) battle it out at Augusta for the Masters and their very own green jacket.  The big news of course this year is that Tiger Woods is not competing this year because he recently had surgery on his back, meaning that odds this year aren’t what you would call great, but it is a very open field with no true clear favourite.

My tips are based on their value, not necessarily who I think will actually win the tournament.  I’d recommend betting each way, because it will give better value overall.  I’m also on a bit of a hot streak (if you can call it that), when I predicted Jason Dufner as the best bet to win the PGA Championship last year, and that Phil Mickelson was a good shout on the last day of the Open.  So onto the business.

Jason Day                            16/1

I wasn’t going to pick Day because I don’t think at 16/1 his odds are particularly good, but if I were to say who I thought would win the tournament he would be near the top of the list.  His form this season has been top notch but very limited due to injuries, and that is the biggest question over Day’s Masters push.  He has only played three times at Augusta, and his finishes are 2nd, withdrawn and 3rd.  He had three top 10 finishes in majors last year, and is one of those golfers who is always sort of around challenging without actually winning.  I’m sure everyone would agree that Day is ready to take the next step and win a major, and I think that the Masters is his most likely chance of doing so.  This isn’t a great value bet, and with the questions over Day’s injury problems I’d have liked the odds to be more around 25/1, but Day has form this season and in the past at Augusta to make him a worthwhile bet.

Brandt Snedeker              40/1

This is my personal pick for the Masters this year.  Snedeker has threatened to win a major for a few years now, and quite honestly it’s a surprise that he hasn’t managed to yet.  Sned’s worst performance in the Masters is T-19th (in four appearances), that’s right his worst is T-19th; it’s an incredibly good record.  Snedeker has the game for Augusta, and he has the past experience to take it to the next level and win the tournament.  Sned’s form this season hasn’t been great, but he did have a top 10 finish in the Arnold Palmer Invitational, which incidentally was the last tournament he played in.  Snedeker is one of those guys who you feel is ready for that next step and I think this is when he will take it, and at 40/1 he is a great price.

Jordan Spieth                    55/1

I doubt that Spieth will actually win the Masters, but at 55/1 he is a very tasty price.  There is no doubting that this kid has majors in his future, but to win one at twenty years old is a huge ask.  He’s only won one tournament in his career, but then again he’s only been pro for just over a year.  Again I don’t think that he will win it (he’d be the youngest ever if he does) I do however think that he could put in a good fight in what is his first trip to Augusta.  He’s an excellent each way bet (or top 5/10 finish) and who knows, maybe this is the start of his legacy.

Louis Oosthuizen             75/1

Oosthuizen is a good player and he’s also a major winner, what puts me off picking him as a good bet is his niggling injury problems and his poor Masters record (missed the cut in four out of five appearances).  What makes me think that he is worth a bet is that he is only two years removed from losing a playoff at Augusta to Bubba Watson and at 75/1 he is a very good price.  Oosthuizen has shown that he has the game to play well at Augusta, and although his form has been very hit and miss this season, he is due a good tournament.  To put it simply, I think Oosthuizen will either have a top 20 finish or miss the cut.

Jamie Donaldson             100/1

In what may be a recurring theme of these tips, I doubt that Jamie Donaldson will actually win the Masters, however what he is is great value.  So far this year Donaldson has put together a steady amount of performances, with seconds in both the Cadillac Championship and the Nedbank Golf Challenge to his name.  I don’t think that Donaldson is ready or even good enough to win a major, but he’s on decent form and at 100/1 he’s worth a punt.

So there you have it, my five tips for the Masters.  To be quite honest I don’t love my picks, and that is never a great thing.  The reason for this is quite simple, the odds this year are shockingly bad and for me there are no stand out candidates for the win.  I do really like Snedeker and think he has a genuine chance of winning the competition, I also think Day has a really good chance as well.  The other three I’m pretty sure won’t win it, but I do think that you could get an unusual winner this year and the value is found further down the betting sheet.  Chances are that the winner will be a first time major winner, as your more established players aren’t playing particularly well and something silly like fifteen of the last twenty one winners have been first time winners.

Enjoy the golf and let’s hope that this is a classic Masters that will go down in history with a winner everyone can be pleased with, and leave a comment about your tips for the Masters or anything in general.  Plus find all the latest bm23sportsreviews updates on Facebook and Twitter.

Author: bm23reviews

I watch TV and sports then write stuff.....that's about it.

Leave a Reply

